RMB Election

In response to comments made in the media recently in relation to the RMB's decision to nominate Mr John Bradford and Mr Ian Mason for the SunRice Board, please see a letter from the RMB's Chair, Mr John Culleton, available by clicking here.



The results of the election for three members of the RMB, held in December 2021 and conducted by the NSW Electoral Commission, are provided below:

Number of eligible voters: 691 entitled to vote for three candidates (2073 possible votes). Number of returned envelopes: 239 (717 actual votes). Less 8 informal votes resulted in 709 valid votes.

Results: Melissa DeBortoli 219 votes, John Bradford 205 votes, Ian Mason 202 votes, Nelson Green 83 votes.



In April 2021, a letter was sent to all NSW rice growers, providing details of the election process and the selection of RMB members for the SunRice Board. The letter is available by clicking here.



As a result of interviews conducted by the RMB, elected members John Bradford and Ian Mason have been selected to represent the RMB on the SunRice Board. This is subject to their re-appointment by the NSW Government which is expected to occur in late January or early February 2022.



The NSW Electoral Commission has conducted an election of three grower representatives to the Rice Marketing Board for the State of NSW. The RMB is pleased to announce the election of John Bradford, Melissa DeBortoli and Ian Mason to the Board. The RMB congratulates the elected members and welcomes them to the Board. It also extends its appreciation to the fourth candidate, Nelson Green, for his willingness to stand for election.

John Bradford has been re-elected after joining the RMB in 2015. He is a fifth-generation farmer whose family has been farming in the Riverina for over 100 years. He operates multiple properties producing food and fibre within the Riverina in New South Wales and in Western Victoria. He is a director of SunRice and sits on numerous SunRice committees and subsidiary boards. John is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

New Board Member Melissa DeBortoli is from an agri-business and farming family in the Griffith region where rice forms an integral part of their broadacre operations. She is an executive-level Management Accountant and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Re-elected Board Member Ian Mason is a partner in a family farming business operating near Finley in southern New South Wales, where the family has farmed since 1913 and also at Barraba in northern New South Wales since 1995. Ian received a Nuffield Scholarship in 2000 which he used to study rice breeding and technology, water use efficiency and water politics. Ian is a director of SunRice and a Board Member of Southern Growers RD&E.

The RMB also wishes to acknowledge the outstanding contribution made by retiring member Gillian Kirkup. Chairman John Culleton recently observed that "Gillian’s commitment to the RMB has always been of the highest order and she has made a very significant contribution over the past 16 years. She has made it her business to be across detail, to ask questions, and when required, to challenge the established ways of doing things. We thank Gillian for the wonderful service she has provided to the rice growers of NSW and wish her well for the future."

The newly elected members’ terms commence once the appointments are officially confirmed by the NSW Government.